Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Male vs female mice for beginner mouse owner?

5 posters

Go down

Male vs female mice for beginner mouse owner? Empty Male vs female mice for beginner mouse owner?

Post by Plapatin Tue 14 Feb 2017, 12:48 am

I'm not sure if this is a FAQ or not, so I'm posting it in general Razz
I'm a beginner mouse owner, having never owned any sort of rodent before in my life.
What gender mouse/mice would be best for me?
I do have school, but I spend a lot of time at home if not at school, and the cage will likely be in my room.
Could someone help me decide? Anything would be highly appreciated!

Plapatin

Pisces Sleepy

Back to top Go down

Male vs female mice for beginner mouse owner? Empty Re: Male vs female mice for beginner mouse owner?

Post by AnonymousMouseOwner Tue 14 Feb 2017, 1:06 am

It all depends on what your preferences are. There is no "better" gender for a beginner. If you don't want to deal with introductions, quarantines, getting another mouse after one passes away, etc., then a male may be better for you. Males, however, need more attention from you and should be handled daily. Females generally smell a LOT less than males. So if smell is a problem for you, females might be better.
I will list some pros and cons of each gender:
Males:
Cons:
Usually smellier than females
Require more attention than females (Can be a pro or a con depending on your situation)
Pros:
Often form a stronger bond with their owners than females do
Can't live with other mice, meaning you don't need to do introductions and deal with quarantines

Females:
Cons:
Must live with at least one other mouse, preferably two (Meaning you have to deal with introductions and quarantines)
Don't always form as strong of a bond to their owners as males do
Pros:
Snuggles! (It's so sweet to see colonies of mice snuggled together in a nest)