Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Symptoms of upper respiratory infection?

4 posters

Go down

Symptoms of upper respiratory infection? Empty Symptoms of upper respiratory infection?

Post by Cutestpuffstuff Fri 13 Oct 2017, 12:34 am

I'm relatively new to having pet mice and have read a lot of things about upper respiratory infections. That they're common a among mice.
Im scared and don't want my mice to get one.
My questions are...
What are the symptoms? And how to spot it early on?
How to prevent it?
How to treat it?
Is there any home remedies? Or stuff I can buy online if my mouse gets one?
And anything else you can tell me about URIs.
Thank you.

Cutestpuffstuff

Back to top Go down

Symptoms of upper respiratory infection? Empty Re: Symptoms of upper respiratory infection?

Post by AnonymousMouseOwner Fri 13 Oct 2017, 1:18 am

What are the symptoms? And how to spot it early on?
Sneezing, hunched posture, very rough and hard breathing, sounds when breathing (from my experience, it sounds like they are struggling to get air in, because their lungs are filled with gunk), sometimes lethargy (though not always). Just make sure you watch for any of the symptoms. Sneezing is not always caused by a URI, so don't panic if your mouse sneezes, it may be allergies. However, if your mouse has any of the other symptoms, especially if they have several of those symptoms, that is when you should seek veterinary care. Mice need to go to the vet as soon as you can take them when you start noticing symptoms, as they can go downhill quick.
How to prevent it?