Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Homemade Mouse Mix

2 posters

Go down

Homemade Mouse Mix Empty Homemade Mouse Mix

Post by Mousetropolis Mon 01 May 2017, 3:55 pm

I'm sure there have been other topics on this, and I'm sorry, but this is my first time making a mix for my girls and I'd like some feedback. I'm thinking about maybe breeding in the future because there are absolutely no breeders in my area and I'm totally in love with my mousers, so I'd like to get a handle on proper nutrition before I start that project. I couldn't really find a food in the stores that I liked much. Two of my girls are yellow mice, and I've read that they tend to get fat no matter what you do, so I'm trying to find something that's not too fatty to keep them as healthy as I can.

Here's my mix:
-I used Higgins Vita Garden rat and mouse food as a base, after I (tediously...) picked all the corn out
-Oxbow Essentials mouse & young rat pellets
-Plain rolled oats
-An off-brand cheerio-type cereal I got at the natural food store
-A bit(not a lot) of dry tricolor pasta

They also get the occasional fresh veggies, broccoli, collared greens, spinach, etc.
Let me know what you think!
Mousetropolis
Mousetropolis
Jr Member
Jr Member

Aries Zen

Back to top Go down

Homemade Mouse Mix Empty Re: Homemade Mouse Mix

Post by CallaLily Mon 01 May 2017, 6:32 pm

I'm personally not too crazy about oxbow's mouse food because of the ingredients mainly. What does the protein, fat, and fiber work out to?  In what amounts are you adding each food?  Another thing I like to pay attention to is the variety of whole foods in the mix.

CallaLily

Festive

Back to top Go down

Post by Mousetropolis Mon 01 May 2017, 8:52 pm