Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Mites?

2 posters

Go down

Mites? Empty Mites?

Post by CucumberMouse Mon 18 Dec 2017, 7:40 pm

I'm pretty sure that I'll be treating my mouse for mites in the very near future, and I'm honestly kind of scared to do so. This is my first time owning a mouse, or rodent of any kind, and also the first real possible health risk I've run into with my mouse Undecided , I'm probably just being paranoid but it scares me to think if anything happening to my little guy. I just have a lot of questions so I guess I'll just list them...

-What does having mites look like in a mouse in the earlier stages? (pictures would be appreciated if possible)
- How can you tell what your mouse has contracted mites from?
-Is there any other sure way to tell if your mouse has mites aside from getting a vet to look at them and take a sample
-How much (about) would it cost to have a vet take a look at your mouse to see if they have mites?
-How risky is it to treat mice for mites? Are they very likely to die?
-Is there any other treatment aside from the Ivermectin treatment for getting rid of mites?
-Where could I get the pour on cattle ivermectin suggested in this link, I'd like to have the option to get it in store because I find that ordering online often delays he delivery, and sometimes the item ordered never arrives, in my experience...
(Link: https://www.petmousefanciers.com/t17-itching-hair-loss-and-parasites )
-Do you need to weight the animal to treat them, and if so, how many drops of diluted ivermectin will need to be used for how much a mouse weighs ( ratio of diluted ivvermectin to weight)
-What kinds and sizes of syringes should I use?