Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pregnant Female Mouse??

3 posters

Go down

Pregnant Female Mouse?? Empty Pregnant Female Mouse??

Post by srslysyrup Fri 01 Jun 2018, 8:32 am

I got 4 mice from the pet store, and they said they should all be males but I was prepared for there to be a female. Of course one of the mice ended up pregnant, so I made her her own cage and sepereated her from the males. Now I’m not sure what to do, i don’t know how far along she is and I understand female mice aren’t supposed to be housed alone so should I introduce another female mouse now or wait until she’s had the babies and they’re old enough to be given to the pet store where I got the original mice from? This is my first time owning mice so any help would be very much appreciated!!

srslysyrup

Back to top Go down

Pregnant Female Mouse?? Empty Re: Pregnant Female Mouse??

Post by Rodents rock! Fri 01 Jun 2018, 8:54 am

If you are housing your males together that is a recipe for disaster. Male mice are very territorial and will fight to horrible injuries and can fight to the death. Even if they are from the same litter, once they reach maturity their instincts kick in. It's just not worth the risk. In the wild, once male babies reach a certain age, they are chased away by the father to start their own lives.

Males do love their humans though  Very Happy  

In reference to your question about the pregnant female, I would not add another female till after she gives birth and raises her babies. After that, adding two females would be ideal for her.

Hope I was helpful Very Happy

Would love to see photos of your mice!
Rodents rock!
Rodents rock!

Happy

Back to top Go down

Post by Rodents rock! Fri 01 Jun 2018, 9:26 am