Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Grieving Mouse

2 posters

Go down

Grieving Mouse Empty Grieving Mouse

Post by Xellie Sat 07 Mar 2020, 7:06 pm

Hi! First I want to say I'm new to keeping mice. I got a pair of boys (I know, it's a bad idea) that were given to me as a rescue because I keep all sorts of rodents, but never had mice before. I watched the boys for any signs of fighting and squabbling, but I saw nothing. One of them seemed kind of deformed (strange body shape, extremely tiny eyes) but active. He died suddenly yesterday, I saw no injuries on him.

Now his brother is hiding and extremely subdued. He's just hiding in his nest, letting me pick him up and just sitting on my hand. He won't eat no matter what yummy treats I offer him. I've taken him out and moved him to see if he's more interested in his food bowl, but he just slowly makes his way back to bed.

Is this normal? I'm used to seeing it in other species, although not quite to this extent. (I keep gerbils mainly)
Is there anything I can do to ease his pain? Is there a point where I need to step in and take some action?
Is there any kind of treat he might find irresistible?

Any advice is appreciated! Thank you <3

Xellie

Back to top Go down

Grieving Mouse Empty Re: Grieving Mouse

Post by Honey102019 Thu 16 Apr 2020, 3:07 am

Hi there.

I'm so sorry for your loss and I'm sorry your little guy has to go through this.

Do you have any idea how old there are? It could be they are very young. Most boys can stay with each other until 8 weeks old in my experience. They start fighting at that point it escalates until about 12 weeks when it's crucial to their safety to separate them. Again, this is my experience.