Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

orphaned deer mouse

3 posters

Go down

orphaned deer mouse  Empty orphaned deer mouse

Post by wowie Wed 15 Sep 2021, 4:02 pm

Hi all ☺

I took in an abandoned deer mouse pup a few days ago (my local wildlife rehabilitation centre doesn't accept mice 🙃). It's my first time caring for a mouse, so I've been doing a lot of research and trying my best to keep her alive. I've been feeding her puppy milk replacement every 4-5 hours, and she's nibbling on oats every now and then.

We think she's about 2 weeks old, as she has a full coat of fur and her eyes are open. I'm worried, though, because she pretty much sleeps all the time. She basically only wakes to eat, and then goes back to sleep. I can't find anything online about mouse pup behavior, so I'm not sure if she's sick or this is normal? help Don't Know

for those wondering: she's currently housed in a 3.5gal acrylic aquarium, lined with cotton diapers and strips of paper towel. I've attached a zoo med rh7 heater to the side, as I can't put it on the bottom, and she spends all her time sleeping near it, sometimes inside the diapers/paper towels, sometimes just on top. I've placed a sanitized jar lid of water in with her, I don't know if she's drunk anything from it yet. She poops on her own; I clean out her poops daily.

that's all I can think of, let me know if I missed anything.

wowie

Dee67 and Valmias like this post

Back to top Go down

orphaned deer mouse  Empty Re: orphaned deer mouse

Post by Dee67 Wed 15 Sep 2021, 7:49 pm