Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Potential Mouse Owner

+3
MiasMice
River
Pommouse
7 posters

Go down

Potential Mouse Owner  Empty Potential Mouse Owner

Post by Pommouse Sun 04 Mar 2018, 11:26 am

Hi everyone!

This is my first post here! I'm very interested in having pet mice and have been doing a lot of research. However, there are some things I'm still not sure about and would like to know everyone's opinion about Smile

First of all, is the smell. I would be interested in getting 2 female mice and have a 20 gallon long for them (just an empty tank so far). I was already interested in gettings girls and will gladly purchase them as a pair if needed. So I'm not sure if having 2 females in a 20 long would have an odor. I dont tend to mind pet odors but I do live with my mom who would not like that (I'm a collage aged student who commutes from my house).

The other issue is: Petco. I've been going around seeing how they treat mice in different pet stores. I only know what I've been researching so far but they clearly had plenty of males in with the females in the female enclosure and one of the mice was seriously sick. I think the poor thing had a URI from what I've read. I would get my mice from Petsmart if I end up getting them but I fell in love with one of the girls at Petco and my heart is broken not getting her. So I want to know, what has been your experience with Petco / Petsmart mice?

Thank you for all responses in advance.!

Pommouse

Back to top Go down

Potential Mouse Owner  Empty Re: Potential Mouse Owner

Post by River Sun 04 Mar 2018, 12:17 pm

Female mice don't smell too badly, especially not in larger cages.