Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

mouse itching and biting tail!! help!!

4 posters

Go down

mouse itching and biting tail!! help!! Empty mouse itching and biting tail!! help!!

Post by lilkitty Mon 30 Nov 2020, 3:55 pm

I'm an absolute newby to this forum and to owning mice and i'm in need of urgent help. i very recently took a mouse of the hands of a family friend whos children werent interested in it. im not even sure of its sex at the minute but they have been housed alone. they seem to be scratching a lot around the neck but i dont see fleas or mites and they are chewing on their own tail, drawing blood and it looks like he has lost a tiny bit from the end. i'm going to schedule a vet appointment right away but dje to national lockdown and me not being able to drive i'm worried it wont be soon enough. is there anything i can do to stop him doing this until then? could it be down to stress? any information would be appreciated

lilkitty

Back to top Go down

mouse itching and biting tail!! help!! Empty Re: mouse itching and biting tail!! help!!

Post by lilkitty Mon 30 Nov 2020, 4:00 pm

mouse itching and biting tail!! help!! Snapch10
(i forgot to add pic)

lilkitty

Back to top Go down

mouse itching and biting tail!! help!! Empty Re: mouse itching and biting tail!! help!!

Post by M O U S E Mon 30 Nov 2020, 5:00 pm

It's good that you immediately scheduled a vet appointment!

What bedding do you use? He/she could be allergic to the bedding and has irritated skin because of it.
Do you freeze the bedding before use? This gets rid of mites and fleas, but as you said you didn't see any.
Was this happening before you got him/her, or did it start after?

I recently had health issues in one of my mice. It was an eye issue, but maybe some of the things I learned can help you out.