Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Picky eating

4 posters

Go down

Picky eating Empty Picky eating

Post by Guest Fri 18 Dec 2020, 10:59 am

My mice are very selective on what they want to eat and it kinda concerns me because i worry they may not be getting enough nutrition and just going for all the fatty stuff, they leave there pellets (green, red, and grey in color) behind or put them elsewhere in their habitat but i dont see them ever eating them or evidence of it being eaten.

So what should i consider or do about about this?

Back to top Go down

Picky eating Empty Re: Picky eating

Post by CuriousWhiskers Fri 18 Dec 2020, 11:51 am

I'm no expert on mice, but you could feed them a different food that just has pellets, and no seeds. If it's all the same then they can't be picky about it. It would have to be a well-balanced pellet, though. Out of curiosity, what food are you feeding now?

Jr Member
Jr Member

Curious

Back to top Go down

Post by Robin~ Fri 18 Dec 2020, 3:29 pm

A diet of nothing but pellets is completely unsuitable for mice. Mice are scavengers with naturally highly diverse diets; removing that is removing a critical source of enrichment. If your mouse has become picky, the best thing to do is either a) switch to a different, ideally higher-quality mix or b) wait until they finish the pellets before feeding more. Smile

hello3
Robin~
Robin~
Sr Member
Sr Member

Sagittarius Bookworm

SarahAdams and CuriousWhiskers like this post

Back to top Go down

Post by chiroptera Fri 18 Dec 2020, 5:45 pm