Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Spraying Ivermectin over bedding

3 posters

Go down

Spraying  Ivermectin over bedding Empty Spraying Ivermectin over bedding

Post by cerial Tue 27 Jul 2021, 2:52 pm

So I have been fighting a battle with mites/lice for a few months now and they are still are causing my mice problems. Here is the thing. I have 6 fancy and 14 deer mice(I have had them in the tank since babies). Most of the deer mice will come to me for treats and such. But as you can imagine sneaking a dropper over there head to apply medicine is next to impossible. They either try to drink it or simply run away.

Now I have a rather large living area consisting of 4 tanks. A 55 gallon long tank,  with a 10 gallon with the top and bottom removed allowing it to sit atop the end of the 55 with a mesh bottom, a 10 gallon stacked on top of that lower 10 gallon with half the bottom removed and the edge ground smooth, and a 58Longx23widex28high enclosure made out of old single pane windows. The one 10 gallon has a mesh lid and the rest I used single pane thin windows from like a moble home that allow for easy lifting yet give 1/8" gap above the tanks for fresh air to come in. Everything I picked up used or free and I have less then $200 into the entire setup. It allows for easy cleaning, daily food and water adds, and just giving them treats.

Needless to say they have tons of room for running, jumping, digging and so on.

When it comes to bedding I give them 2 to 4" thick throughout the entire bottom of the tank. Now if I was to buy this stuff from the store it takes right around 160 Liters(just over 3 big bags) to give them the thickness I like them to have then after a few days I give them another half a big bag or 20Liters(I did it twice then said screw it). Because this stuff is not free(that's around $80) I have a different method for bedding.