Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

more gerb questions :)

2 posters

Go down

more gerb questions :) Empty more gerb questions :)

Post by Colors Fri 06 Jan 2017, 7:48 pm

I want to get two gerbils for my birthday, but I'm still learning about them. I was wondering if gerbils can eat most outdoor seeds and plants if they've been placed in the freezer to kill parasites? I have a lot of seeds in my backyard from foxtails and other reed-like plants. I have lots of plantain (at least two types). I've read that mice can eat plantain and foxtail seeds, but I know that Gerbils come from a totally different habitat climate and probably eat totally different plants in the wild. Also, can most rodents eat pinecones if the pinecones have been soaked and frozen for a few weeks? I'm soaking five pinecones right now to get rid of some of the sap. Then I'll stick them in the freezer and keep them there until I feel like they've been totally disinfected. Smile

EDIT: I have another question, I have a grapvine basket that I got from a local Goodwill. I'm pretty sure it's safe because the only smell on it is the smell that Goodwill items usually have. I washed it and now it smells woody. It really looks natural, with those little spiral springy things that grapevines have. I just want to know if it would in any way be safe for rodents in general? (hamster, mouse, gerbils?) Thanks Smile I don't think it's treated.
Colors
Colors

Cancer Starving

https://weepingwillowf2016.wixsite.com/justgerbils

Back to top Go down

more gerb questions :) Empty Re: more gerb questions :)

Post by Drago Mon 23 Jan 2017, 5:28 pm