Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Will 5 females be happy in the Barney pet cage?

2 posters

Go down

Will 5 females be happy in the Barney pet cage? Empty Will 5 females be happy in the Barney pet cage?

Post by jamlessme Sun 29 Oct 2017, 4:59 am

Is the Barney pet cage from Zooplus (100 x 54 x 45 cm) too small for 5 females? Or is there anything else that would be better? I'm planning on buying it but I'm not too sure that it's big enough for 5, so I would appreciate someone checking for me Smile Also, considering I'm new to caring for mice, should I purchase less mice before buying 5 and landing myself in something I wasn't expecting? I'm not totally unaware of rodents, as I've had degus and hamsters in the past and currently own a Syrian hamster, so I assume I'll be able to manage perfectly, though I can't be too certain. Thank you Smile

jamlessme

Back to top Go down

Will 5 females be happy in the Barney pet cage? Empty Re: Will 5 females be happy in the Barney pet cage?

Post by AnonymousMouseOwner Sun 29 Oct 2017, 5:58 am

That cage is plenty big! According to the cage calculator, it is spacious enough for 12 mice, but I wouldn't keep that many together of course. Groups of 3-5 are the most manageable, in my opinion, so 5 is a good number to start with. Any number of mice more than 6 isn't recommended to someone without a lot of experience with groups. A group of mice larger than 7 or 8 isn't recommended at all, as you'd likely run into some serious issues with groups splitting and fighting.

Will 5 females be happy in the Barney pet cage? Boyssi17Angel Remembering: Violet, Snow, Holly, Lilac, Clover, Petal, Cotton, Sugar, Autumn, Sage, Rocky, Jack, Willow, Blossom, Sierra, Amber, Olive, Scout, and Daisy
AnonymousMouseOwner
AnonymousMouseOwner

Creative
1st Place -- December 2016