Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Un Tame mouse

2 posters

Go down

Un Tame mouse Empty Un Tame mouse

Post by Shadowrose1 Tue 02 Apr 2019, 8:24 pm

I have no previous experience with mice. (butI have experience with guinea pigs in fact I have three) my friend had a mouse for a year but she never paying attention to it. so I offered to take him in I don’t think she ever handled him because he’s super skittish. he’s been at my house for over two months and Darts at every shadow. I’ve tried putting my hand in there. he’s been at my house for months but is still so skittish she said she got him for Christmas in 2017. she probably lost interest after week and neglected him Ever since. She’s not actually my friend but my mom’s work friends daughter. love animals so whenever I heard of a mouse being potentially neglected I had to step in. but my question is can he ever became tame will he always be so skittish.  feel I am making no progress. taming guinea pigs never been this hard. I just impatient or is there no hope for this mouse. Thank you in advance for any advice you can give me.

Shadowrose1

Back to top Go down

Un Tame mouse Empty Re: Un Tame mouse

Post by CallaLily Wed 03 Apr 2019, 4:36 pm

There is still hope. Smile It just may require a lot of patience on your part. I find gently transferring the mouse over to a safe, neutral play space works better than trying to tame them in their cage. You can use a box or tube to move them over until they’re more used to you. You just gotta keep it up. It helps to take them out daily around the same time. Leave treats for them to find in their cage for when you put them back. They learn to expect it. More info on taming here.

CallaLily

Festive

Back to top Go down

Un Tame mouse Empty I don’t know what to do

Post by Shadowrose1 Wed 03 Apr 2019, 8:14 pm