Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pellets too high in protein

3 posters

Go down

Pellets too high in protein Empty Pellets too high in protein

Post by Fuzzball Mon 30 Sep 2019, 5:54 pm

I just got a pair of young males, two brothers (whom I'm hoping will be able to live together without fighting since I've given them the largest cage I could find). I'm new to mouse ownership and am finding all the nutrition info a bit overwhelming. I got some pellet mouse food at the pet store but it's got 17% protein and only 3% fibre, so I filled their food bowl with half pellets, half oats, to try and dilute the high protein food and increase the amount of fibre in their diet. Is that a good mix to give them? Also I've heard that they like variety, and am worried that they'll find just pellets and oats quite boring. I offered them some apple but they weren't interested. What are some other things I can give them to keep their diet interesting? I've got some uncooked rice which might add an interesting texture to their food mix - would that be good for them?

Fuzzball

Back to top Go down

Pellets too high in protein Empty Re: Pellets too high in protein

Post by Robin~ Mon 30 Sep 2019, 9:24 pm

Hello!

I would definitely suggest finding a different food source. Too high of a protein level can cause irritated patches on the skin often referred to as “hot spots”, which aren’t fun at all for the mice Sad Generally sticking to 12-14% protein is good. This typically takes you into the realm of parakeet food, which is a pretty great alternative Smile

I also wanted to note you can’t exactly change the variety or GA with add-ins—the diet must be good to start, and then you can use add ins to make it even better. But, whole grain rice can be added if you’d like Smile