Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bedding

5 posters

Go down

Bedding Empty Bedding

Post by Bambi Mon 09 Apr 2018, 4:16 pm

I was wondering what type of bedding would everyone recomend? Do you think just aspzn is good or just papaer based? or would a mixture of both be better?
also what brand is best for mice?

Another question. Do mice use sand baths? From what I have heard the dont use them for bathing or rolloing but Would they use it for a bathroom and has anyone trained their mice to use sand as a bathroom?

ok one more question!
Would it be better to get 3 female mice so if one dies later on the other doesnt get lonley? or would it be fine with just 2? Im pretty new to mice owning/care These will only be my second time having them but im going to count it as my firt because the others I had when I was like 5-6. I do know that mice and hamsters are alot different but I think owning a hamster and multiple other pets have helped me know alot more even though all different animals have different needs.

I have just gotten the yes to getting mice from my parents so I am super exited to start my search and start collecting/getting things for my new furry friends! I will most likeley have to wait to get the actual mice at the end of the summer because I will be super busy. I am going to try to adopt If i can but it is so hard to find young female mice upbfor adoption. I am starting the search with alot of space to when I can actually have them so maybe I can find some little girlies for adoption in the time frame I have!

Bambi

Back to top Go down

Bedding Empty Re: Bedding

Post by Mahjling Mon 09 Apr 2018, 5:41 pm

I personally use coconut coir and a small amount of Sphagnum Moss. (90 - 95% coir, to 10-5% moss) and it's worked wonderfully for me, no smell, cheap, long lasting, eco friendly.

Mice do not use sand baths, it can be bad for their lungs.