Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Is it Ok to use coconut fiber soil dry

2 posters

Go down

Is it Ok to use coconut fiber soil dry Empty Is it Ok to use coconut fiber soil dry

Post by Iced coffee Sun 09 Feb 2020, 1:45 am

I bought 6 bricks of expandable coconut fiber soil from the reptile section. Is it ok to just hand crumble it dry? I already did this however it was slightly dusty, but settled fast. Is this safe or should I have sprayed some moisture on it?

I have 4 females in a 55 gallon tank, natural themed
I don’t know if I posted the picture correctly, this is my first time posting and I’m on my phone trying to figure it out Smile

Is it Ok to use coconut fiber soil dry 709ba610

Iced coffee

Back to top Go down

Is it Ok to use coconut fiber soil dry Empty Re: Is it Ok to use coconut fiber soil dry

Post by Robin~ Sun 09 Feb 2020, 8:31 am

The coconut fiber should be safe like that, but I would be concerned about two things:

1. It can be very dusty, which can be very bad if you have a sensitive mouse.

2. They can’t burrow in it, meaning your mice can’t thermoregulate by adjusting how close their burrow is to the surface.

I definitely would not have sprayed water on it. Any sort of dampness can cause pneumonia or generally sickly mice, particularly in a tank without much ventilation.

Anyways, to solve this issue, I would strongly suggest leaving the coco fiber to a portion of the cage and using 4-6” of a natural-colored paper bedding (such as Carefresh) in the rest of the cage.

hello3
Robin~
Robin~
Sr Member
Sr Member

Sagittarius Bookworm

Back to top Go down

Is it Ok to use coconut fiber soil dry Empty Re: Is it Ok to use coconut fiber soil dry

Post by Iced coffee Sun 09 Feb 2020, 11:14 am