Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Can't pinpoint mouse noises

2 posters

Go down

Can't pinpoint mouse noises Empty Can't pinpoint mouse noises

Post by Kadin72 Wed 04 Jan 2023, 1:57 pm

My mouse Henry was making a bunch of sounds while he was in his tank so I took him out to check on him and he seems fine, I can't pinpoint if it was chirping or clicking but he continued making noises after I picked him up so I recorded it. He's not hunched in pain and his breathing doesn't sound labored I think, after a couple minutes he has completely stopped making noise and is just hanging out with me. Was he just vocalizing or is he sick? I'm not very good at differentiating noises.

Kadin72

Back to top Go down

Can't pinpoint mouse noises Empty Re: Can't pinpoint mouse noises

Post by Loving.pests Thu 05 Jan 2023, 4:11 pm

More often than not, in my experience sounds like that corresponded with respiratory infection.

I have had two mice that were very vocal. The noises both these mice made corresponded to me picking them up, and they were both very people friendly mice, so I think it was some kind of attempted communication with me or just an expression of excitement. The noise they usually made wasn't like that though. It was a very high pitched whistle, right at the top of my hearing range. I tried to record it with my phone and it didn't work, so I don't think the phone even picks up that frequency. However, I remember one of my noisy mice (she's since passed) made noises pretty much like that when I was paying attention to her and a respiratory condition never developed. She sadly died of a tumour, but she never had a respiratory complication or trouble.