Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Recipe for homemade mouse mix/diet

3 posters

Go down

Recipe for homemade mouse mix/diet  Empty Recipe for homemade mouse mix/diet

Post by Lilli's Mice Tue 14 Aug 2018, 4:14 am

Hi guys!
I'm quite new to owning mice (only had them for a year or so). Up until now, I have just been feeding my mice mouse pellets. Where I live commercial mouse mixes aren't easily available and are quite expensive, so I want to try making my own. I would really appreciate some feedback on the recipe, I don't want to hurt my mice Ear wiggle ! I would also be so grateful for some advice on the amounts.
Thanks in advance,
Lilli Wink Confused

So here are my ingredients:
Rolled oats
Sunflower seeds
Pumpkin seeds
Bird seed/food
Uncooked pasta
Mealworms
Golden flax
Uncooked brown rice
Quinoa

What do you think, anything I should add or take away? WHat amounts???
Thanks again (:

Lilli's Mice

Leo Elated

Back to top Go down

Recipe for homemade mouse mix/diet  Empty Re: Recipe for homemade mouse mix/diet

Post by AppleCheeks Tue 14 Aug 2018, 8:31 pm

I spent most of my years breeding mice coming up with recipes etc that worked for my mice/lines - the mouse food most local stores sold were just re-labelled bird seed..

So after consulting with countless breeders (both in NZ where I live and over in Australia, UK and USA), I found one general guideline many of them had in common.
1/3 seed and 2/3 grain. Pretty simple right?

1/3 bird seed - the type depended on the mice I was feeding, older mice I focused on larger pieces because it was easier for them to grip and hold. Younger mice, it didn't matter much. This is where I would add anything like pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds etc. Keep in mind, sunflower seeds are pretty fatty so don't add too much - plus some mice have issues with them.